QUESTION or DOUBT ? You can Ask Questions and Receive Answers from other members of the community
Ask Me

Join Us

First Recipients of Various Awards

✔1st Indian to be awarded the Bharat Ratna➡ C Rajagopalachari
✔1st Bharat Ratna Awardee to become the President of India
➡Dr. S.Radhakrishnan
✔1st person to be awarded the Bharat Ratna posthumously➡Lal Bahadur Shastri
✔1st Scientist to be awarded the Bharat Ratna ➡CV Raman
✔1st and only Industrialist to be awarded the Bharat Ratna➡JRD Tata
✔1st woman to be awarded the Bharat Ratna➡Mrs. Indira Gandhi
✔1st sportsperson to be awarded the Bharat Ratna➡ Sachin Tendulkar
✔1st Indian to be awarded the Nobel prize in literature➡Rabindranath
✔1st recipient of Bhartiya Jnanpith award ➡G Sankara Kurup
✔1st recipient of Sahitya Akademi Award for English➡RK Narayan
✔1st person to receive Nobel prize for English literature➡Rudyard Kipling
✔1st Indian to receive the Booker prize (British citizen) ➡Salman Rushdie
✔1st Indian woman (and also first Indian citizen) to receive the Booker prize➡Arundhati Roy
✔1st Indian to receive the Pulitzer prize (Reporting category)➡Gobind Behari Lal

✔1st recipient of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award➡ Viswanathan Anand
✔1st woman recipient of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award ➡Karnam Malleshwari
✔1st recipient of Dhyanchand Lifetime Achievement Award➡Aparna Ghosh
✔1st cricket player to be awarded the Arjuna Award➡ Salim Durrani
✔1st Indian recipient of International Cricket Council's Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy➡ Rahul Dravid
✔1st Indian scientist to be awarded the Nobel prize ➡CV Raman
✔1st person to receive Nobel prize for Physics➡ William K Roentgen
✔1st woman to receive the Nobel prize ➡Madame Curie (1903)
✔1st winner of Param Vir Chakra
➡ Major Somnath Sharma
✔1st and only Air Force person to receive the Param Vir Chakra
➡Flying Officer Nirmaljit Shekhon
✔1st woman to receive the Ashoka Chakra➡ Neerja Bhanot (1987)
✔1st Indian to be awarded the No shan I Pakistan➡ Morarjee Desai
✔1st Indian to be awarded Magsaysay Award➡ Vinoba Bhave
✔1st winner of Dadasaheb Phalke Award➡ Devika Rani
✔1st winner of Filmfare best actor award➡ Dilip Kumar
✔1st winner of Filmfare best actress award➡ Meena Kumari
✔1st Hindi film to win the National film Award➡ Mirza Ghalib (1954)
✔1st film to win the Best Film Academy Award(Oscar)
➡ Wings (1927-28)

★1st recipient of Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding
➡U Thant (1965)
★1st recipient of Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament an
➡Development Parliamentarians for Global Action(1986)
★1st recipient of Indira Gandhi Award for International Justice and Harmony
➡Yasser Arafat (1992)
★1st recipient of Outstanding Parliamentarian Award
➡Shri Chandrashekhar (1995)
★1st recipient of Gandhi Peace Prize (Govt of India Award)
➡Julius Nyerere (1995)
★1st recipient of World Food Prize instituted By Norman Borlaug (Father of Green Revolution)
➡MS Swaminathan (Father of Green Revolution in India ),
★1st recipient of Communal Harmony Award (Individual)
➡Asghar Ali Engineer, 1997
★1st recipient of Communal Harmony Award(Organisation)
➡Quami Ekta Trust, 1997
★1st recipient of Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony
➡ Pt. Ravi Shankar, 2012
★1st Asian recipient of Hoover Medal (America's prestigious award for outstanding extra-career services by engineers to humanity)
➡ APJ Abdul Kalam, 2008
★ 1st recipient of VK Krishna Menon Award (instituted by London based VK Krishna Menon Foundation)
➡Former CJI KG Balakrishnan

Top Post Ad

Below Post Ad

Ads Area